RETT SYNDROME RESEARCH TRUST WEBSITE

independent

johnsson

The following piece comes to us from the blog of a UK newspaper, The Independent. This powerful and poignant piece was written by Beth Whitley mother to Hannah who has Rett Syndrome.  (3/15/2013)

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Life with Rett Syndrome: ‘When my little girl was diagnosed, I had no concept how much things were going to change’

by Beth Whitley

I lost an old friend this week. Not in the idiomatic sense that he passed away, nor in the literal sense that I misplaced him in a crowded supermarket and never found my way back to him. Although, metaphorically, perhaps that’s exactly what happened: we lost each other in the crowded supermarket of life and by the time we realised we’d gone astray, there were just too many aisles and trolleys and shelves of tinned goods to find our way back. Of course, if I hadn’t been pushing a wheelchair maybe I’d have been able to keep up a bit better.

[continue reading]